Towards modern standards of care in psychiatry

11th International Conference of the SAARC Psychiatric Federation 16th Academic Sessions of the Sri Lanka College of Psychiatrists Colombo - Sri Lanka


International faculty


Professor Seena Fazel



Seena Fazel is Professor of Forensic Psychiatry at the University of Oxford, a Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow in Clinical Science, and honorary consultant forensic psychiatrist for Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust. He works clinically in a local prison. His main research interests are on suicidal behaviour in prisoners, mental health of prisoners, and risk assessment in criminal justice and mental health.



Dr. Rupert McShane


Rupert McShane leads the ECT and ketamine service at Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust and is the chair of the Royal College of Psychiatrists special committee on ECT and related treatments. His work on ECT includes creation of internet resource of 140 video clips of people talking about their experience of ECT on HealthTalk.  He ran the first international conference on ketamine treatments for psychiatric disorders in March 2018 ( and he is previously the coordinating editor of Cochrane Dementia and Cognitive Improvement Group.